THANK YOU LAUREL!

After 20 years at Duquesne University, Laurel is leaving us! On her last day (today), we at CTE wanted to send out a post thanking her for all that she’s done for us.

At her goodbye party, over one hundred faculty that have been positively affected by Laurel and her work at CTE came to bid her farewell. Dr. Holly Mayer (Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and associate professor in the History department) and Dr. Sarah Wallace (an associate professor in Speech Language Pathology) enthusiastically agreed to say a few words about the role Laurel has played on campus. We’ve captured some of their remarks from that reception in this post.

Holly MayerDr. Mayer spoke about some of the great things Laurel has done for Duquesne University and its staff.  Dr. Mayer couldn’t stress enough how Laurel has helped an innumerable amount of faculty and graduate students flourish. It’s fitting that she chose the word “flourish,” since one of Laurel’s projects is this blog, the Flourishing Academic. Dr. Mayer said that Laurel has worked to “establish a rigorous and dynamic schedule of group events and individual tutorials, all with the focus on helping teachers and students flourish at what they do best.”

She continued, “Laurel has fostered connections within DU, building community as well as teachers, such as through the Partners Advancing Learning (PALs) initiative.” The PALs project gathered staff from across campus to encourage one another, celebrate highlights, share our priorities, and see where their work can be strengthened through collaboration. Also, “she has fostered connections with professional organizations outside DU, the most notable being the Pittsburgh Regional Faculty Collaborative and the Practice of Educational Development in Higher Education (the POD Network).” Because of her outstanding work helping faculty flourish, “she received the Bob Pierleoni Spirit of POD Award in November 2018, which recognizes ‘selfless contributions through their service to the organization and to the field of educational development.’”

Dr. Mayer continued by describing Laurel as “energetic, ethical, and fearless in promoting people, principles, and progress.”


Sarah Wallace(0)Dr. Sarah Wallace shared only a small portion of what Laurel has done at Duquesne, explaining, “It is difficult for me to talk about Laurel and not think about a million things I am grateful for during the 10 years I have known her at Duquesne.” Dr. Wallace focused her remarks on what she said was the “greatest gift” Laurel has given her during the time she has known Laurel: mentorship.

“Laurel has been a mentor to me in every possible way. First, as a new faculty member, Laurel shepherded me through the ins and outs of what it means to be a faculty member and part of the Duquesne University community. As newbie faculty members, she makes us feel welcome, integrated into the community, and supported. She helps us see that is okay if a risk we take doesn’t work out the first or second time we try it. She also helped me understand how to keep the students as our priority, not just through our words, but through our actions. She sat with me and guided me to solve my own problems in a way that was so skillful, I had no idea how she was doing it!

“Then, I had the opportunity to have Laurel serve as a formal mentor to me as part of a program with my national organization. She taught me about the scholarship of teaching and learning and as I look around campus, I see that she has helped to make this an important priority and also made it accessible for experienced and less experienced faculty alike. Again, she mentored me, and so many others, in a subtle way that you don’t always even realize the valuable lessons you are learning until years later when you find yourself reflecting on the skills you developed during your time with her. All these nuggets of wisdom will stay with me for the rest of my career and my life.

“My experience with Laurel as my mentor and friend is at the very core of my positive experience during my time at Duquesne University. My self-perception as an educator and scholar of teaching and learning is a credit to her dedication to Duquesne University and to each individual educator on our campus. Best wishes. You will be missed more than words can say. Thank you, my dear friend and mentor.”


And from all of us at CTE, we offer these thanks and best wishes to Laurel as she steps into the next adventure.

Steve-Hansen-Duquesne-2016Laurel,
Thank you for fourteen years of being a wonderful mentor and colleague.  More importantly, thanks for being a wonderful person who genuinely shows care, empathy, and support for others.  I have regularly witnessed how you so naturally bring out the best in others!  You are the role model for faculty development at its best.
As you enter this new phase in your life, my thoughts and prayers are with you because I am truly grateful for working with you.
With all good blessings,
Steve

headshotLaurel has changed who I am as an educational developer, a teacher, a mentor, and a colleague, but she has also inspired me personally, especially as a mother. There are plenty of metaphors that I might use to describe the role she has played in my life: an anchor, a safety net, a shining light, a sounding board — the list could go on and on. Most importantly, she has held up a mirror so that I could see my strengths and have the courage to work on my weaknesses. I have no doubt that wherever she lands next, Laurel will profoundly change, for the better, those she encounters. She will expose them to new ideas, inspire them to grow from their shortcomings, and encourage them to see and develop their greatest strengths.
Thank you, Laurel, for all that you are and all that you do! Thank you for providing intellectual and emotional nourishment, even on those days that perhaps you needed nourishing of your own.
–Erin

Christina Frasher(0)When I think of Laurel I think of a model of leadership that is rooted in authenticity and the feminine. Her ability to see value in someone or in an idea that may not be immediately visible is nourishing in these times we live in. This ability comes from a place of reverence for the gifts that we have within us even if we cannot see them ourselves. She says what needs to be said and in this authentic way contributes to the creativity of everyone around her and always keeps us on track and committed to what deeply matters.  During our trips to our annual POD conferences, I have noticed her delight in the small but beautiful aspects of the world around us or the joyousness she brings to the office with her spontaneous (soulful) singing. Laurel has inspired in me a vision of what is possible and the diligence to continue to bring that vision to light and I know I am not the only one.
-Christina

IMG_5884In the past semester that I’ve worked with Laurel, she has encouraged me to be a better student and person. From my first day, Laurel and I have worked together on this blog. She has pushed me to be a better writer and has encouraged me to think of things in a new light. I have also seen just how much of an impact she has on others’ lives. If they stop in to say hi or have a question, I’ve notice faculty constantly seek out her advice on almost any project. Laurel constantly lights up the office and always has an encouraging word or a funny comment to brighten my day. I’m proud that I can say that I’ve worked alongside Laurel here at Duquesne and I will always appreciate what she has encouraged me to do! Thank you, Laurel!
Arianna

blog-post-image-kiara.jpgLaurel has been a blessing to work for at Duquesne. It’s hard coming into a new school and getting into the swing of things and joining the CTE team freshman year helped me learn about the university and adjust better to being at school. Even on my rough days, I saw Laurel bring radiant energy into the office and it really helped me look at the bright side of everything. And without the influence of her and her son Brian, I might not be part of the best buddies program now (which I love very dearly)! I will forever be thankful for the ways she has touched my life both professionally and personally during my time with her in the CTE office.
-Kiara

thank-you-515514

Leave a comment